It you smoke then Germany is your friend. Seems that everybody and his dog smokes, though I didn’t actually see dogs smoking during my limited time there.

Here’s the problem. Most indoor places now forbid smoking. This is certainly an improvement over the past and is akin to what we experience in California. And black, stinking cigars have fallen out of favor as well, though I saw a couple of women smoking cigar slenders.

These days, twice as many Germans smoke as do Californians. Since they can’t smoke indoors then they do it outdoors, on the sidewalks. There seem to be far more Germans spending time in public places so we tourists inhale a lot of smoke, more than we are accustomed to getting. On our first evening stroll in Hamburg I took my iPad around and tried to sneak a few shots of people doing their smoking thing. Wrong camera for sure but maybe I captured the mood. Here goes, as best I could.

Altona night life is on the streets

Altona night life is on the streets

Smoking is fun

Smoking is fun

Pretty with a cig

Pretty with a cig

Satisfying

Satisfying

Carefree

Carefree

We love to drink and smoke

We love to drink and smoke

Social time

Social time

Enough for one evening. We really did enjoy walking in the long evening light watching so many people enjoying themselves. Wish I could have captured many more “on film”. Maybe next time.

We see all sorts when we walk around

We see all sorts when we walk around

