Today was a sad day. I had to put Suzi on the afternoon ferry and watch her steam off to the mainland. She would take a train to Hamburg and fly from there to San Francisco. I had two weeks left on Hooge, missed her the minute the Hilligenlei left the landing, but of course I was looking forward to seeing her in Santa Rosa after my return.

Here she is sadly contemplating her imminent departure.

Do I have to leave?

Do I have to leave?

After a wonderful last lunch, we ambled down to the ferry. One last hug and one last wave, and she was off.

Bye!  See you in Santa Rosa!

Bye! See you in Santa Rosa!

Farewell, Mom!

Farewell, Mom!

It wasn’t exactly a sunny day with calm waters — the sea was quite rough.

Waves getting bigger

Waves getting bigger

I walked home along the coast, watching the oyster catchers flock together on a sandbank, and wanting to savor the rough weather. I have always liked to walk on really windy days; there is excitement when you can feel the force of nature. And by the time I got to our turnoff, I was able to witness great displays of wave action.

Great waves

Great waves

Safety in numbers

Safety in numbers

Where two days earlier we had watched some brave souls swim near the concrete breakwater in calm water, now the waves pounded it, and they were spectacular.

Wild weather

Wild weather

Who wants to go swimming today?

Who wants to go swimming today?

Apparently one of the ferries was not able to tie up at the regular landing, so it was diverted to below Ockenswarft (where I happened to be at that time) to take on passengers at a pier that wasn’t used very much any more. It took a little maneuvering, but it finally made it. The man in the red shirt at the end of the pier is the harbormaster who has to supervise each ferry’s coming and going.

Is it going to make it?

Is it going to make it?

A little closer, please

A little closer, please

A school class that was going back to the mainland were brought down in one of the horse-drawn carriages. No one seemed concerned about the rough water.

A little adventure for the school kids

A little adventure for the school kids

After the ferry left, three men noticed a boat at the coast in danger of floating away. They were able to grab ahold of it and haul it up to safety.

Securing a boat

Securing a boat

It had started to mist, and I was very grateful when the carriage driver offered me a ride back to my Warft. What a wonderful way to end this day! Even though I already missed Suzi so much, I know she would have enjoyed the stormy day, too.

A perfect way to travel

A perfect way to travel

